Lawyers



Drunk Driving Lawyer Maricopa

Need A Glendale DUI Attorney?
Dui Attorney Benson AZ | dui expert

If you have been pulled over for drunk driving in the state of Arizona, it is critical to contact a qualified DUI/DWI lawyer as soon as possible. You have just 15 days from the date of your drunk driving arrest to request a Motor Vehicle Division hearing to delay or possibly prevent driver's license suspension. Additionally, by hiring a lawyer right away, you can protect yourself against saying or doing something that may incriminate you.

Effective DUI/DWI Representation

At The Law Offices of John Phebus, our Glendale DUI lawyers are regularly called upon to defend people facing drunk driving charges in the greater Phoenix area along Highway 101, Interstates 1-10 and I-17 and other Arizona roadways in Maricopa, Pinal, Yavapai and Yuma counties.

Effective representation in your case depends on how quickly you get a DUI defense lawyer on your case to investigate the facts. As experienced DUI defense attorneys, we can explain the sobriety tests and the likely outcome of your case. We can advise you on whether to negotiate a plea agreement for a lesser charge or fight the DUI charge in court. Additionally, we will thoroughly prepare you for your court appearances, and be by your side every step of the way.

Peoria Drunk Driving Charge Lawyers

Arizona law distinguishes four levels of drunk driving, with graduated penalties for each. Driving under the influence of drugs carries the same penalties as alcohol DUI except MVD revokes your driver's license for one year.

  1. Blood alcohol of 0.01 to .08: Drivers under age 21 can be convicted of DUI/DWI if they have any alcohol in their system. They can also be charged with minor in consumption or minor in possession, which can affect their driver's license for up to two years if under 18 years of age, regardless of whether or not they were driving.
  2. Blood alcohol of .08 to .149: Driving Under the Influence (DUI), (also called Driving While Impaired (DWI))
  3. Blood alcohol of .15 or greater: Extreme DUI
  4. Blood alcohol .2 or greater: Super Extreme DUI

Federal law (and Arizona law) has a lower allowable blood alcohol threshold (.04) for commercial truck drivers and those with a commercial driver's license to be charged with DUI.

Severe Consequences For A Drunk Driving Conviction

Arizona levies tough DUI penalties for those convicted of impaired driving. Sentencing depends on the level and circumstances of intoxication, prior convictions and the court where your case is heard.

First offenders will serve a minimum of 24 hours and up to 10 days in jail, while a second or third offense may result in substantial jail or prison time. Other criminal penalties include fines, alcohol and substance abuse treatment, traffic survival school and ignition interlock devices. In addition, the MVD will suspend your driver's license for a period of time, and your auto insurance rates may skyrocket.

It is wise to have a skilled criminal defense attorney fighting to protect your driving record at all stages through the legal process. Let us help you from start to finish.

Source: www.crimeandinjurylaw.com

Related posts:

  1. Drunk Driver Lawyer Fairfax
  2. Drunk Driving Lawyer Mississippi
  3. Drunk Driving Lawyer Indiana
  4. Immigration Lawyer Maricopa
  5. Free Family Lawyer Arizona