U.S. Immigration Lawyer New Jersey


Algodones sand-dune-fenceThe Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, first announced in June 2012, allows undocumented immigrants who arrived in the U.S. as children to remain here and work, provided they meet certain eligibility criteria. The purpose of the program is to focus immigration enforcement priorities away from people who contribute to American society. The status of the program under the new administration, however, remains uncertain. Some recent enforcement actions have resulted in the arrest and detention of DACA beneficiaries. One such individual has filed suit against the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and an official of its agency, Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). Ramirez Medina v. Asher, No. 2:17-cv-00218, pet. for writ of habeas corpus (W.D. Wash., Feb. 13, 2017).

DACA constitutes an agreement by the federal government to refrain from immigration enforcement actions against approved individuals for a two-year period. This was made renewable for additional two-year periods in 2014 and 2016. Beneficiaries are also granted work authorization. They are not, however, granted lawful immigration status, which is outside of the president’s authority under federal immigration law. The program attracted close to a million applications, more than 700, 000 of which were approved.

To be eligible, a candidate had to be under the age of thirty-one as of June 15, 2012, and had to have entered the U.S. prior to their sixteenth birthday and before June 15, 2007. They had to be physically present in the U.S. without lawful immigration status on both June 15, 2012 and the date they applied for DACA. They could not have a felony or major misdemeanor conviction, nor more than three minor misdemeanor convictions. They had to pass a national security-related background check. Finally, they had to have a high school diploma or GED, honorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces, or current enrollment in school.


Related posts:

  1. Immigration Lawyer Texas
  2. Immigration Lawyer Nebraska
  3. Immigration Lawyer New York